My 3rd Motorbike – 2010 Honda VFR800

Sadly I did let my Triumph Speed Triple go a couple years ago to make way for other things. I recently picked up however a 2010 Honda VFR800 in Candy Red/Gold which needed a little bit of TLC. I love getting my hands dirty and DIY so this was a good thing for me.

These bikes produce 104 hp (78 kW) @ 10,250 rpm and weigh 218kg dry / 240kg wet. These do have VTEC which comes on about 7000rpm and the noise/pull once it hits VTEC does make you yell VTTTEEEEEEEECCCCCCCCCCCCCCC haha..

After purchase I tore it down and gave it a big service. As you can see it had a faded tank, so replaced this with a newly painted one also.

first-service img_7693-large

I then replaced the weathered windscreen with a new tinted one and then bought/fitted a new Saddlemen Touring seat with carbon weave. The new foam has gel inserts and is so much more comfortable.

img_7727 img_7732

I’ve also replaced the exhaust with a MTC dual outlet exhaust system from the UK which has been great. The V-4 sounds almost like a little a high revving V8 now.

img_7763-large img_7770-large

I had a minor idle problem when it was warm (revs would hold high), so after some research I found the cause to be the wax idle unit located under the throttle bodies. The way it works is the piston in the wax idle unit expands as the coolant flowing through it gets warmer, and the piston presses against the throttle body butterfly. These are famous for failure, so off to it! I ordered a new one from Honda as well a new thermostat and took apart the bike. After replacing this all was fixed! Happy days.

img_8098 img_8101

One more thing I did maintenance wise was to synchronise the 4 throttle bodies using a ‘Carbtune pro’ device. You connect the device and then adjust the screw on each throttle body. The throttle bodies were quite a bit off so after doing this it’s suppose to make it smoother. I didn’t notice much difference to be honest but good to know it’s all in harmony now.

img_8176 img_8178

img_7812-large

img_8130